clt adds this from the o

Submitted by Neal from Monroe, NC

Q: I graduated from the University of South Carolina and I am puzzled at the lack of sports coverage given to the “Gamecock” teams. There are a great deal of Alumni living in the Charlotte region whom I feel deserve better coverage from the Observer. Is it possible to provide better coverage or is the paper limited to information sent from the various schools media releases?

Answered 06/09/08 11:45:58 by Rick Thames
A: We know we have a large number of Gamecocks fans in our region. But we’re unusual in that we track many teams with significant fan bases here. Here is how Sports Editor Mike Persinger explains it. “We are limited more by the fractured nature of our readership in terms of college allegiances than we are by the information available. Appalachian State, UNC Charlotte, Clemson, Davidson, Duke, Johnson C. Smith, North Carolina, N.C. State, South Carolina, Wake Forest - fans of all these area schools and more expect coverage in the Observer. And that list doesn’t include the schools for thousands of newcomers who arrive here each year from other areas of the country.” Elsewhere in the country, some newspapers can be singular in their focus. In Kansas, football means Kansas and Kansas State. In Columbia, it’s the University of South Carolina, plus some Clemson. “We are, by necessity, split many more ways,” Mike says. "What we try to do is recognize moments for each school and be there when they happen. We covered all of South Carolina’s major football games, and we were there at the NCAA baseball regional in Raleigh that included the Gamecocks. “So it’s not about availability. It’s about spreading the coverage around.”