Need Some Career Advice

For everyone who’s already graduated, especially if you’re in the business or government sectors, I’d love to get your opinion on something.

I graduated from Charlotte in 2010 with a B.A. in History and was accepted into gradschool here at Mississippi State. Due to obligations with the Army I was only able to complete 1 semester for my M.A. prior to now (going back in the fall). I’ve had a lot of great, real world experience, with the Army. I met on a weekly basis with tribal elders and government officials and helped them run media campaigns for security and government recruitment. I was also the founder and project manager for a highly successful literacy program where we set up reading programs in small villages. I absolutely loved working what I did.

So now I’m back in the states and facing a crossroads. I want to work for the government or for a business doing marketing or management (wife doesn’t want me going active duty.) Meeting with people and conducting research and advertisements were much more fulfilling than being a TA or student teaching - and I say that with mad respect for all the teachers in the house.

For everyone who works in any of these fields, what would you recommend? I could stay the course and finish my M.A. in History and see what’s out there after that. I have also looked into switching over to masters in Public Policy, Marketing, or MBA. I would have to backtrack and do additional courses to meet the requirements for Marketing or MBA. The army will pay for a graduate degree but won’t cover a second bachelors.

Thanks for the advice in advance guys. We’d like to get back to the Charlotte area, there is nothing in Mississippi.

My career advice, become a gigelow! :stuck_out_tongue:

sounds like you love community development. there are various paths into that.