Observer "Carolina" Article

http://www.charlotte.com/mld/charlotte/spo…es/10872126.htm

The Observer had a guest article the other day about the relative meaning of “Carolina.” While generally uninteresting, one paragraph stuck out:

[b][The City of] Charlotte finds itself in a unique situation when it comes to this "Carolina" thing. North Carolina graduates outnumber graduates of any other school in our area, and the Tar Heels' success in athletics lends itself to a huge fan base.[/b]

:huh: Doesn’t UNCC have more graduates than any other school in the greater Charlotte area? Is this just a case of misunderstood semantics? In either case, it’s clear why this man is an anchor by trade rather than newpaper reporter; he either didn’t check his facts or didn’t state it clearly enough.

[i]Originally posted by Roasty[/i]@Feb 11 2005, 03:12 PM [b] :huh: Doesn't UNCC have more graduates than any other school in the greater Charlotte area? Is this just a case of misunderstood semantics? In either case, it's clear why this man is an anchor by trade rather than newpaper reporter; he either didn't check his facts or didn't state it clearly enough. [/b]
Just off hand, without any stats at all, I'd say UNC has us beat.

I would think so too, they’re too old. :stuck_out_tongue:

As I posted in another thread this morning, there are some 20,000 UNC Charlotte alumni living in Mecklenburg county and about 35,000 in the 13-county Charlotte (Southern Piedmont) area. Those counties include: Anson, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Rowan, Stanly and Union.

49erAlumnus can give you some better and more specific numbers if you’re interested.

HP, my recollection is that we are number one and Chuck Howard is wrong in his assessment. BTW, seems like anyone can join the alumni association at Chapel Hill:

Can people who didn’t graduate from UNC join the GAA?