2020 Summer Movies

Ive been doing a summer movie post for many years where I highlight upcoming movies and my gut reaction to either their success or my excitement level around each with a very short description. Well with 2020 summer movies first delayed and now basically looking like it won’t happen I wanted to at least make a 2020 movie post. Hopefully next summer we can get back to the big movie season!

Big Summer 2020 Movies

Hopefully sometime before September: Tenet - Christopher Nolan brings us another of his masterpieces. Designed to make you think and ponder and the trailers seems like this will fall in the lines of Memento, Inception and previous works. Delayed multiple times from original release date and at this point the only summer movie I really want to see and I will go see it opening night whenever it does show. Nolan has been committed to theatrical release so don’t expect it to stream ahead of traditional theater experience unless the studios force it.

What a year! I appreciate you doing this every year. I always find a couple to put on my list, and usually a couple more to mark off my list.

1 Like

It ain’t for this summer, but have enjoyed following the development of Denis Villenueve’s Dune. He directed Arrival, Gravity, and Blade Runner 2049. He has been given a huge budget and shot on location in desert regions. And unlike the 1984 version, he is not trying to fit the entire book into one film. Instead, he is breaking it into 2 films as there is a pretty natural break in the book.

Huge cast… lot of recognizable names:

Starring

They are also using a good amount of practical effects/sets, and they built life sized versions of some of the vehicles as well.

Release date is around Xmas. It’s hard to do sci fi and fantasy well. Really hope they can pull this off.