Athletic Revenue

We were 92nd.

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/college/schools/finances/?fullsite=true

Ranking those top 92 teams by subsidy percentage, we’re 14th at 69.97%

Amazing what TV and BCS money can do for the %subsidy. [font=verdana]The eventual separation is already apparent.[/font]

clt finds this interesting. Our facilities are certainly not 92nd best.

It will be interesting to see how that changes as the full impact of football rolls in (CUSA TV contract, expanded stadium etc.).

I’m no lawyer but sounds like something that could be used in a lawsuit if the P5 ever decide to split off.

We’ll at least we’re not at 90%+ subsidy like last year.

Looked like ECU spent close to 1,00,000 more than they took in… where does that dough come from?

[quote=“BleEDgreen49er, post:8, topic:28852”]Looked like ECU spent close to 1,00,000 more than they took in… where does that dough come from?[/quote]For them, it was probably because they had to pay an entry fee into the AAC. They can defer some of their tv contract money to pay that over time most likely.

Averaging close to 50,000 for football is a start.

Athletic Department should be on the hot seat, but they aren’t because no one cares.

Athletic Department should be on the hot seat, but they aren’t because no one cares.[/quote]

Not really. The reality is that if you are ranking 92 teams based on subsidy %, the 92nd team should have the highest % of subsidy. If you want to disparage the AD then find teams ranked higher than 92 that have a lower subsidy %. An even better statistic would look at subsidies on a per student basis versus the overall budget.

Athletic Department should be on the hot seat, but they aren’t because no one cares.[/quote]