Mitch Mullis story

Mullis signs basketball grant with Charlotte
By Steve Hanf, Staff Sports Writer, High Point Enterprise
11/12/2004

Charlotte’s basketball coaches liked Mitch Mullis when he was a tall, skinny sophomore at Forsyth Country Day.

They still liked him as a tall, more muscular senior at East Davidson High School. And even when Mullis had to spend a year getting his course credits in order at Laurinburg (N.C.) Prep, the 49ers told Mullis there would be a place for him.

“Charlotte started recruiting me back when I was a sophomore, letter after letter,” said Mullis, who officially signed on the dotted line with the 49ers on Thursday. "I visited early in my junior year, fell in love with the place, I loved the coaches. But when I had to transfer back to East Davidson from Forsyth Country Day, I had discrepancies with how my credits transferred from a private school to a public.

“They (Charlotte) said if I graduated next year, the year after that or two years down the road, they’d stick by me,” Mullis added. “Anywhere they’re going to do that, that’s the right fit for me.”

Mullis’ roundabout path to playing basketball at a high-level Division I school probably makes him even more ready for the challenges of competing in Conference-USA and handling the academic load.

Looming 6-foot-6 as a freshman at East Davidson, he had the Golden Eagles’ basketball coaches drooling before deciding to transfer to Forsyth Country Day. When Mullis returned to Thomasville for his senior year, East coach Matt Ridge was happy to get Mullis back in the lineup.

“When he was a freshman here, he was 6-foot-6. When he was a senior here, he was 6-foot-6 and 225 pounds,” Ridge said. “He had put on a lot of muscle by working in the weight room, developed some fundamentals. He’s got an array of post moves that is just amazing.”