Niners Miss NCAA Men's Soccer Field

College Cup Championship Selections

Nov. 15, 2004

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Committee announced today the bracket for the 2004 NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship.

The teams will be vying for the right to compete at the 2004 NCAA Men’s College Cup on December 10 and 12 in Carson, California, at the Home Depot Center. The University of California, Los Angeles, will host the championship.

Wake Forest University, the Atlantic Coast Conference regular season champion, was awarded the No. 1 seed. Indiana University, Bloomington, is the No. 2 seed. The University of Maryland, College Park, was named the No. 3 seed, while the University of Virginia is the No. 4 seed.

The remaining top 16 seeds are the University of Notre Dame; UCLA; Southern Methodist University: the University of North Carolina, Greensboro; the University of California, Santa Barbara; Pennsylvania State University; St. John’s University (New York); Old Dominion University; the University of New Mexico; Creighton University; Boston College and Virginia Commonwealth University. The top 16 teams receive a first-round bye.

Twenty-three conferences were awarded automatic bids for the 2004 tournament. The remaining 25 teams were selected at-large.

The automatic qualifying conferences and their representatives are: America East Conference, Boston University; Atlantic Coast, Virginia; Atlantic 10 Conference, George Washington University; Atlantic Soccer Conference, Florida International University; Atlantic Sun Conference, University of Central Florida; Big East Conference, University of Connecticut; Big South Conference, Coastal Carolina University; Big Ten Conference, Michigan State University; Big West Conference, UC Santa Barbara; Colonial Athletic Association, Hofstra University; Conference USA, University of Memphis; Horizon League, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; Ivy Group, Dartmouth College; Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Marist College; Mid-American Conference, University of Akron; Mid-Continent Conference, Western Illinois University; Missouri Valley Conference, Southern Methodist University; Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, New Mexico; Northeast Conference, Long Island University, Brooklyn Campus; Pacific-10 Conference, UCLA; Patriot League, American University; Southern Conference, College of Charleston and West Coast Conference, University of San Francisco.

Five teams will be making their first appearance in the tournament: Marist, Northwestern University, and Western Illinois. The Big Ten led all conferences with six teams while the ACC and Big East had five representatives.

Indiana won the 2003 Men’s College Cup, 2-1, against St. John’s (N.Y.) at Columbus Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio.

All first-round games will be played either November 19 or 20, while all second-round contests will be played November 23.

Listed below are the first-round sites and match-ups as well as the site and opponent in the second round:

Miami, Florida
First round - UCF at Florida International
Second round - Winner at Wake Forest

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
First round - George Washington at North Carolina
Second round - Winner at Virginia Commonwealth

San Francisco, California
First round - Wisconsin-Milwaukee at San Francisco
Second round - Winner at UC Santa Barbara

Columbia, South Carolina
First round - College of Charleston at South Carolina
Second round - Winner at UNC Greensboro

Columbus, Ohio
First round - Memphis at Ohio State
Second round - Winner at Notre Dame

Durham, North Carolina
First round - Coastal Carolina at Duke
Second round - Winner at Old Dominion

Seattle, Washington
First round - Portland at Washington
Second round - Winner at New Mexico

Washington, D.C.
First round - Long Island at American
Second round - Winner at Virginia

South Orange, New Jersey
First round - Hofstra at Seton Hall
Second round - Winner at Maryland

Evanston, Illinois
First round - Western Illinois at Northwestern
Second round - Winner at Creighton

Boston, Massachusetts
First round - Dartmouth at Boston U.
Second round - Winner at St. John’s (New York)

Los Angeles, California
First round - Cal State Northridge at Loyola Marymount
Second round - Winner at UCLA

Berkeley, California
First round - Santa Clara at California
Second round - Winner at Southern Methodist

Tulsa, Oklahoma
First round - Michigan State at Tulsa
Second round - Winner at Penn State

Storrs, Connecticut
First round - Marist at Connecticut
Second round - Winner at Boston College

Ann Arbor, Michigan
First round - Akron at Michigan
Second round - Winner at Indiana

– Courtesy