Basketball Negativity

With all the history here, I was kind of curious to measure the sentiment on basketball over time. So, I’ve taken all Basketball Forum Posts (leaving out recruiting and smack talk) and scored them with a sentiment model.

Given, the model used isn’t tuned in any way for basketball lingo, it’s just an older model trained off of Twitter… Below is the trend over time. The score there is the composite average of the positive, negative, and neutral scores for each post. Obviously the down is negative and up is positive here. The range is 1 to -1 overall. What’s more important here is the trend though. Where we used to be and where we are now…

2 Likes

Your graph is a hater troll Mac! Well done

Basketball is just painful these days. Complaining about it is just about the only thing I can do. I don’t have anything positive to say or feel. I feel like I’ve pretty much hit the don’t care level. I’ve been giving the program the benefit of the doubt for so many years. They have to earn it back. I’m buying a single cheapest ticket I can. I’m becoming someone I said I would never be with basketball.

Honestly though it isn’t entirely on the program it is just the current state of college athletics. So part of what Mac is probably picking up is dissatisfaction with not just Niners but the environment we now are in.

Well, it isn’t the entire program that breeds negativity here, it is the entire basketball program that does. It’s the state of our failed basketball program that is the problem. Others suggesting the negativity here is the fault of a few upset fans are in denial about what is reflected in Mac’s chart here. The downward trend is akin to the fall of the angel cast out from heaven to hell. We are literally in basketball hell! Not to be critical

clt says how bad would it be if JT didn’t hit the davidson shot?