Current state of Charlotte vs APP "rivalry"

My daughter is a graduate from App. (yeah I know - but she redeems herself a little… and my other daughter graduated from Charlotte ((son from Wilmington))

Anyway - she is a graduate from App and now is at Grad school at Charlotte in the Athletic Trainer program. She just learned she is working with Football this fall.

So yesterday she comes homes after classes and working a PT job on campus (in Halton) and she is wearing a ragged old App T-shirt.

Me “You wore THAT to work??”
Her “No - I went to the gym afterwards.”
Me “You wore THAT shirt on Charlotte campus AND in a Charlotte student gym?”
Her “Yeah it is a good workout shirt.”
Me “You CANNOT wear an App shirt on Campus.”
Her “Why not? I graduated from App.”
Me “Ok, but they are our oldest and most hated rival!”
Her “What rival? They don’t think anything about Charlotte. Charlotte sucks.”
Me “Ok maybe not in Football - but in basketball”
Her “Charlotte has not had a good team in 15 years.” (ouch)
Me (struggling now) “Ok… but real Charlotte athletics fans know… and you will be with those fans in the gym.”
Her laughing knowing I lost the battle.

I have my work cut out for me…

Sorry, but your daughter shouldn’t be working in Charlotte athletics at all…i recommend she tell Biff that Charlotte sucks…and App sure as hell thinks about Charlotte more than we think about them…btw, i dont think of App as our oldest or greatest rivalry.

5 Likes

This artificial rivalry holds no interest to me. They have, so far, dominated us in football, and we have more wins in men’s basketball and baseball. If you took any individual sport we’ve played them in you would be hard pressed to say this is a rivalry. Local media created rivalry does not exist.

We NEED to make ECU our rival/end.