Graduation / Commencement Speakers

So, CPCC is having Dr. Jill Biden speak at their graduation ceremony. Davidson had Supreme Court Justice Sonja Sotomayor (sp?) and I can’t think of anyone high profile or memorable we’ve ever had.

When I graduated [almost a decade ago now - geez!] we had the president of the UNC system there, and she kept saying that we were “UNC grads” or “graduates of UNC” and I wanted to scream. It was atrocious.

Who is in charge of this? How can we attract higher profile speakers?

Obama was here the night before his first election, maybe we can get him back after he leaves office.

I think we should give SCK the task - for every class from here until he dies.

Seriously though I have wondered about this. How do up our game with this? Is it just about $? Surely we could at least get some of the CEOs in Charlotte to say a few words.

Clinton would be funnier, the one with the external genitals…oh, wait…the one who identifies as “male”.

Janet Reno

We don’t have commencement speakers because Chancellor Dubois likes to announce each student’s name who graduates. A commencement speaker usually takes up the majority of the ceremony, but we dedicate our ceremony to the students.

We’re one of the only universities of our size to do this. A student will speak for about 5 minutes though.

i just graduated from UNCC this past december and the ceremony was awesome basally the whole time was just calling students names and Chancellor Dubois is right graduation day is for the students thats the way it should be and the actual combined speaking part of the ceremony lasted i think like 20-25 min thats it

clt hopes you are kidding.

[quote=“upperdeck, post:4, topic:29572”]Janet Reno

http://www.justice.gov/archive/ag/speeches/1996/10-04-1996.pdf[/quote]

I’d prefer Will Ferrell dressed as Janet Reno.

Dubois was not there for my graduation ceremony in 2012. I believe his daughter was graduating from WVU on the same day.