Huggy Bear

I have to admit - I’ve always had a certain respect for Huggins, even when Cincy was our loathed rival in CUSA. I know there are Niner fans who hate him, but Huggins’ sincere compassion and love for his players can’t be argued after last night’s WV vs DUKE game.

Duke was clearly the better team, but LAST NIGHT Huggins was the best coach in America (had nothing to do with basketball).

It’s pretty obvious why he and Lutz got along: two stand-up fellows who love their teams.

I used to give Huggy tons of grief in the early 2000’s when I was a student at Charlotte, but he is without a doubt in my mind one of the best coaches in the country.

He wins games everywhere and his players absolutely love him. I had the chance to hear him speak at a basketball clinic last spring and he was hilarious. He’s a good guy and an even better coach.

You can throw some similar coaches into the same category, as far as recruiting. Huggins, Tarkanian, Volvano, Thompson, Chaney, Calipari. Guys either known for or criticized for taking questionable players. Some say they sell their soul, just for the sake of competing. I’ve always tried to not rush to judgment. I sincerely believed that Volvano was giving some kids a chance to change, grow, whatever you want to call it. He had to figure out a way to compete with UNC-CH, and he wasn’t going to do it by trying to out recruit them for the McDonald All Americans.

After seeing Huggins last night with Butler, I’m more convinced that he is more similar to Volvano in trying to give certain kids a chance.

You guys are crazy. FUCK BOB THUGGINS!! He had everything from murderers to child molesters to even a guy who raped his own grandmother on his teams at Cinci. Not to mention a 0, I repeat 0% graduation rate between 91 and 97. Like him if you want, but I still say fuck him.

user error… this response was supposed to be in another thread