I Support Alan Major

As background, I am proud to say that I am a UNCC graduate and have been a fan and supporter of the Charlotte program for nearly 20 years. I am fortunate that this program has provided many wonderful memories - camping out for tickets and enjoying donuts from Bobby Lutz, losing my voice and storming the court after beating a highly ranked Cincinnati team, reveling in the Lutz invitational talk, travelling to CUSA tournaments, beating Lamar Odom’s Rhode Island team in the NCAA, very nealry beating the Tar Holes in the 2nd round of the NCAAs, and many, many more.

Unfortunately, the program has been a frustration and disappointment recently. I loved Bobby Lutz but was ready to move on early in his final season. I was disappointed with the move to the A-10 and then our inability to compete at a higher level in that conference. And honestly, moving back to CUSA, while good for the football team, is disappointing from a basketball perspective - the passion for many Charlotte alums.

It would be easy to focus on the frustrating aspects of the season and our team. God knows, we have a very entertaining thread that mostly covers it! But I have decided that I am going to focus on the positives of the current team and our program. I choose this path not because I am naive or because I don’t care as much as many others on this board. Rather, it is the positives that provide me happiness, entertainment, and most of all hope as I think about the next few seasons.

I am focused on the following:

• Recruiting - I’m very happy with our progress and like the Charlotte pipeline that Major has created
  • Coaching - Beating Kansas St. and Michigan and bringing home a tourney title requires some talent, right?
  • Talent - We have some real talent coming back and with the the infusion of talent, I think our guys will find better roles (Henry is not a PG, for example)