Name change

Hi all —
I’ve been off this board for a while, but I sense a reinvigoration of the name change debate. I sent Phil an email and copied the Board on it tonight — I’d ask each of you to do the same. His interview in the news said if the alumni put up enough of a fuss he will have to look into it — I’m doing my part. The email I sent is copied below. Feel free to use what you like. Thanks, and go Niners!

Chancellor Dubois —

I am very proud of the things that UNC Charlotte has accomplished since I graduated almost ten years ago. We have expanded the research campus, built a beautiful uptown campus, and started a football program. The university has truly blossomed over this decade.

While we have grown, our reputation in the city and business community has failed to keep up with our improvements. Many achievements by faculty, students, and alumni have been attributed to the Chapel Hill campus of the UNC System. This in turn decreases the value of our degrees.

Ten years ago when I was a member of the Student Government Association I wrote legislation calling for a vote on the name change. While this vote didn’t lead to the university changing its name, I succumbed to the “if you build it they will come” mindset. We have built it and you and your administration have done a tremendous job — the reputation did not come.

This topic has recently been aroused once more, and I implore you to look into this once more. I understand it is a politically sensitive topic, but I know we will be able to stand on our own name with the power of the school. It’s time we unify our branding under the Charlotte moniker and drop the “UNC” from our name.

I stand ready to help in any way possible. Thank you for your attention.

Darren

I might change “aroused”… lol

Otherwise, good letter.

[quote=“NinerAdvocate, post:2, topic:32336”]I might change “aroused”… lol

Otherwise, good letter.[/quote]